If I Was a Beauty Blogger // Part Two

Ok.

I left a few items off the list in my last post. AND I promised my pal Alicia LaCasse that I’d try her favorite mascara and blog about it. So this obviously calls for round two. Here it is!

Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 6.20.04 PM

Target Up & Up Skin Cleanser // $6.59

Even though Cetaphil gets dirty looks from the natural beauty crew, I’m sticking by it. It’s the *only* cleanser that keeps my skin clear. I tried to save a few bucks a few months ago and picked up this is knockoff Cetaphil at Target. Well, my face immediately exploded into a cystic acne breakout. Thankfully, I remembered that I’d read in Elle that Cetaphil makes a really great shaving cream. So I popped it in the shower and guess what–it’s the best! It keeps follicles tiny and skin smooth. And at $6.59 it lasts *forever*. If you don’t shave every day…guess what, boys? Most girls don’t shave everyday! #freedom

Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 6.27.35 PM

Younique Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lash Mascara // $29

If you’re a relatively frequent Facebook user, chances are high that you know someone selling Younique cosmetics. More specifically, 3D Fiber Lash Mascara. This stuff is everywhere! I was hesitant to try it because I’m an editor/writer/word snob and the company name is an intentionally misspelled play on words. In the same way, I will drive 10 extra miles to the next gas station if yours is called Konvenient Korner. Also, at $29 I felt like the price was a little steep. I’d pay that much or more for some Marc Jacobs or Dior mascara, but to me, Younique is brand new. I wasn’t ready to drop the big bucks. Anyway. I got over myself when my friend Alicia read my last beauty blog and gave me some mascara to test drive! (WHAT A SWEETHEART!) So, I wore it fairly regularly for the past three weeks. Here’s my review: If you like big lashes and/or fake lashes, you’ll LOVE this stuff. Really, only good things can be said. I put on a light Rimmel mascara as a base, then the gel mascara from the kit, then swept the fibers onto the tips of my lashes, then sealed them in with another coat of the gel. My lashes got LONG. But not as long as some others I’ve seen who have tried it and photographed themselves on Facebook. I found that my L’Oreal Voluminous mascara got my lashes equally as long–so it’s probably just *my* lashes that are unable to get as crazy long as other people’s. I’d recommend it to anyone who likes to play with makeup, though. It’s certainly worth the cash…and MUCH easier than falsies!

 

Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 6.42.22 PM Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 6.42.08 PM

 

Gucci Guilty To-Go Spray // $29 @ Sephora

When my pal Sarah and I snuck into Macy’s Glamorama afterparty two Summers ago (one of the most fun nights ever, seriously), I was given a small sample of Gucci Guilty in my swag bag. I’ve worn it most days of the week since and have been rationing it carefully. I decided to pick up a to-go size bottle for my bag recently and I’ve LOVED having it with me. It’s a nice boost on a humid day–just a spritz here and there can really be a nice pick-up! My only complaint is that it’s the ONLY to-go perfume at Sephora that isn’t a rollerball. I prefer rollerballs because they’re usually blended with oil which seeps into your skin and sticks around a lot longer than a spritz does. But that’s a minor complaint. I love it! Worth it. Get yourself one.

That’s all for part two. I don’t know if there will be a part three later this year. We’ll have to see what the Fall/Winter fashion and beauty fairies have in store for me. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

