Rainy Day Jams

rainyday

 

Today was one of those cloudy days where you can’t quite rally up to do much of anything productive. For me, the only thing that helps me is to pop on my headphones and blast my rainy day jams. I love upbeat music during the workday normally, but it has a way of numbing everything out. It just helps you focus in, tune the world out, and get down to business. The thing about rainy day jams is that not only do they help you focus on the task at hand, they do this thing to your heart. You can hear the lyrics and they explode through the speakers and settle into your mind. I love this. I love my rainy day jams. So–I’m going to share a few of my current faves with those who care to read about them!

“If You Run” // The Boxer Rebellion
I first learned about The Boxer Rebellion when I saw the movie, “Going the Distance,” starring Drew Barrymore and Justin Long on an airplane ride to NY a few years ago. The band actually appears in the movie and this song is a cornerstone to the story between Drew and Justin’s characters. Unfortunately, the movie is pretty lame. This song? Totally the opposite of lame. #1. Excellent buildup #2. Those driving drums at the end make my heart beat faster #3. The lead singer’s voice is perfect for this song. I can’t imagine anyone else performing it but him.

“West Coast” // Lana Del Rey
Say what you will about her. I love her. To me, she’s a new generation’s Nancy Sinatra. Her music videos are basically a Vogue shoot and anyone who’s interested in fashion and art can appreciate that. If you want to see them, you’ll have to check them out on her Vevo page on YouTube. You’re not allowed to embed Vevo videos, apparently. I can’t wait for “Ultraviolence” to come out this summer!

“I Need My Girl” // The National
This song got its second wind in my music library when it was used on “The Mindy Project” last season. I’ve been watching old episodes lately because I can’t HANDLE waiting until this fall for the Danny/Mindy romcom to continue. Thanks to them, it’s back in rotation. HEAVY rotation. PS. This video is straight up magical. Like a modern music box.

“Latch” // Sam Smith
This brit’s about to blow up, y’all. You’ve been warned. (I’m not the first one to say it…he was on SNL last month.)

“Fade Into You” // Mazzy Star
Every few months, this song gets its claws into me yet again and it doesn’t let go for days. I’ve loved it since I was a little lady sitting in my bedroom in front of my boombox, cds spread out around me on the carpet, styling my Barbies like Gwen Stefani, and wiping Bonne Bell tinsel glitter on my collarbone. I worked at a video store in high school (proud to say, RIP Lakes Video) and got free rentals. One night I took home “Angus” on VHS and my heart just soared when they utilized one of my favorite slow jams in one of the most heartwarming scenes EVER. It’s really one of the most BEAUTIFUL songs in the world, in my book. Forever. PS. I want to bottle up the 90’s essence in this video and wear it around my neck.

“Slow Dancing in a Burning Room” // John Mayer
He’s been my love since 2001 when we ran through the halls of our high schools, together. When he put this jam out my love was solidified for all eternity. I remember visiting my two best pals from high school, Allie and Christie, at their college in Moorhead, MN the year this album came out. We were driving to Subway with two of our other friends visiting from high school. We arrived at Subway, and because THIS song was playing, we stayed in the car, doors locked, squished in the backseat, all five of us with our eyes closed, in our own little worlds, singing along until the song was done. Now–how many songs have that kind of power? Not many. This is a forever-love song. Something I’ll hear when I’m 80 and still close my eyes and let it swirl all around me and take me somewhere else. It’s the saddest song, lyrically. But so, so wonderful. I’m listening to it as I write this and actually having a difficult time paying attention. This cut from his Where the Light Is (Live in LA) album is my favorite version. Toward the end (at 4:35 specifically) when he lays into it and basically floats into space then returns to the stage–that’s what I love about him. Well, one of the many things. This song is money in your headphones. Promise.

Leave a Reply

