We Got HOPE on Easter Morning

IMG_0022

 

It’s been QUITE a week for my family!

On Tuesday, my Grandpa was diagnosed with bladder cancer and as of today, we’re still waiting on a prognosis/action plan. On Thursday, my Grandma was admitted to the hospital, just four doors down from my Grandpa, with pain all over her body. The hospital in Hutchinson, near their home, was unable to figure out what was wrong with my Grandma so they transported her by ambulance to Abbott Northwestern in Minneapolis on Thursday night. My Grandpa was discharged from the hospital on Friday, where he spent his first night in a nursing home. The plan was for both of them to go there together since they’re both too sick to take care of each other, especially since my Grandma has been in a wheelchair for the last five years, since having her leg amputated after one of her artificial knees became infected. Well, Grandpa wasn’t a big fan of the nursing home. Can you blame him? My Grandma Diane and Grandpa Wayne haven’t been apart much since they got married in 1957. Not much at all. So eating dinner alone and spending the night in a new place alone was pretty much the pits. Since Grandma is still hospitalized and we don’t have to worry about Grandpa trying to take care of her while recovering from bladder surgery, we decided to take him back out of the nursing home and let him go home. (With a promise to take it easy!) We’ll wait for more news about his bladder cancer from his doctors on Monday or Tuesday.

I visited my Grandma in the ICU at Abbott yesterday. The weather was grey, rainy, bleak, and cloudy. As I drove to the hospital, it struck me how appropriate that weather was for the Saturday between Good Friday and Easter. The world without a Savior. With no hope. The situation for the past week has seemed pretty hopeless in my family, too. My mom has been staying three hours away with my Grandma, caring for her in her home, until she was admitted to the hospital on Thursday. After that, she’s spent nights in the hospital waiting rooms. A cancer diagnosis is one scary thing to begin with, and adding to it a mystery illness only magnified the sense of hopelessness that hung over us this week.

I left Grandma last night and came home to bed with plans to just have a simple Easter-ish dinner with my parents today. My mom spent her first night in her own bed since Tuesday. None of us were able to make it to church, this weekend. I have been clinging to scripture about hope, copying down as many verses as I can find to hold onto, and sharing them with my grandparents. Our long Easter weekend has been difficult and well, not Eastery at all.

But this morning.

The sun came up blazing.

The birds sang.

Christ resurrected.

And Grandma got a diagnosis. A treatable one.

Most likely caused by her diet and the stress of finding out my Grandpa has cancer–she got a severe case of gout. In every single one of her joints. Add to that arthritis, kidney failure, low blood pressure, a fever, and a couple other things I’ll refrain from mentioning here for her sake ;), she’s in a LOT of pain. But gout is treatable. VERY. She’ll be out of the ICU in a few days, onto a recovery floor and hopefully out of the hospital in a week or so. We’re not sure where they’ll go for care, treatment, therapy and recovery after that, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. For now, we’re breathing freely for the first time in a few days and praising God for good news.

We got HOPE on Easter morning. We’ve had it all along in Him, but we got relief and sweet hope that we get to keep our dear loved ones with us a little longer.

Praise Him. Hallelujah!

 

I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the wonderful future he has promised to those he called. I want you to realize what a rich and glorious inheritance he has given to his people. I pray that you will begin to understand the incredible greatness of his power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. Ephesians 1:18-20

Leave a Reply

